List of 18 National and Official Symbols of India PDFs With Names


India has some specific symbols that represent its unique Identity. These symbols of National importance are known as the National or Official symbols of India. India has adopted various symbols on different occasions since its Independence.

National Symbols are the source of patriotism and National pride for Indian Citizens. The topic of National symbols is important from examination point of view as many direct and indirect questions are asked in examinations like UPSC, SSC, Bank etc from this topic. So in this article are going to present some important points regarding National Symbols along with the list of symbols of National Importance.

Important Facts On National Symbols

Here are some important facts listed below on National Symbols.

  • The design of the national flag which is based on Swaraj Flag Designed Pingali Venkayya in 1921 by was officially adopted by the Constituent Assembly just before independence, on 22 July in 1947.
  • The Ratio of National Flag is 2:3
  • The Lion Capital Of Ashoka or the Ashoka Stambh with a motto of Satyamev Jayate: in Devanagari script was adopted as the National Emblem of India on January 26, 1950.
  • The Motto of Satyamev Jayate is taken from the Mundaka upanishad.
  • Jana Gana Mana was written by Rabindranath Tagore and adopted as the National Anthem of India on 24 January 1950.
  • Vande Mataram, a Sanskrit poem written by Bankim Chandra Chatterjee was adopted as the National Song on 24 January 1950.
  • The National Pledge of India was written by Pydimarri Venkata Subba Rao in Telugu 1962.
  • The National Aquatic Animal is the Ganga Dolphin which represents the purity of the holy Ganga as it can only survive in pure and freshwater.
  • The National Flower of India is the lotus which is an epitome of beauty but signifies non-attachment.
  • Shalivahana Shaka calendar is adopted as the National Calendar of India.
  • The Royal Bengal Tiger is the National Animal of India with effect from April 1973 and Nagpur is known as the Tiger Capital of India.
  • On October22, 2010, Indian Elephant was declared as the National Heritage Animal.
  • King Cobra is the National Reptile of India. It is found mostly in Indian Forests and Southeast Asia region. The longest venomous snake of the world may live up to 25 years and can grow up to 19 ft.
  • On 1 February 1963, The Government of India designated the Peacock as the national bird of India.
  • Mango or Mangifera Indica originated in India Which is home to more than 100 varieties of the fruit. It is referred to as the King of Fruits.
  • The Indian rupee symbol is derived from the Devanagari consonant “र” (ra) and the Latin letter “R” was adopted in 2010. Uday Kumar is the designer of the new symbol of rupee who derived his inspiration from Indian Tricolour.

List Of National Symbols Of India

Symbol Name
Official Name Republic of IndiaHindi: भारत गणराज्य (Bhārat Gaṇarājya)
National Flag National Flag of IndiaHindi: तिरंगा (Tiraṅgā)
National Emblem&
National Motto
State Emblem of India (Lion Capital of Ashoka)

“Satyameva Jayate” Sanskrit: “सत्यमेव जयते “(“Truth Alone Triumphs”)

National Anthem

Jana Gana Mana (“Thou Art the Ruler of the Minds of All People”)

National Song Vande Mataram (“I bow to thee, O Mother!”)
National Days Independence Day,Republic Day,
Gandhi Jayanti
Oath of Allegiance National Pledge
National Currency Indian Rupee (“₹, INR”)
National Calendar Indian National Calendar, Saka Calendar
National Cockade Indian Cockade, a Tricolour ribbon Knot
National Animal Tiger (Panthera tigris)

National Heritage Animal

Indian Elephant (Elephas maximus indicus)

National Aquatic Animal

Ganges River Dolphin (Platanista gangetica)
National Reptile King Cobra (Ophiophagus hanna)
National Flower Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera)
National Tree Indian Banyan (Ficus benghalensis)
National Bird Indian Peacock (Pavo cristatus)
National Fruit Mango
National River Ganga


Source link

Leave a Reply Cancel reply